Follow your heart

DSC_7706

I am sitting here trying to put in to words exactly what I want to convey to you. Even as I write this I am in a little bit of awe as to the opportunities that have been presented to me as of recently. A few days ago I made it “official” and announced that I have gone full time as a photographer. This, in and of itself, is fantastic. However, this last year I have worked as both a full time photographer and a high school teacher. And a mom of two busy boys and a wife.

Perhaps there are some of you reading this wondering just what it looks like for someone to get to the exact point that they have been working toward. Perhaps you are burning the midnight oil working multiple jobs just to see your dreams come true. I’m here to say- I feel you. I’m also here to say, NEVER give up on what is important to you.

Maybe you’d like to hear about the very beginning.  I have always loved taking photos. I’m in love with the fact that you can freeze time and preserve a memory. After planning our own November wedding in 2009, I fell in love with wedding photography. That was my “thing” that meant a lot to me. As a wedding gift, my husband gave me my first DSLR camera and I was hooked. From practicing in my backyard with the dog to shooting weddings, families, babies, and everything in between, I can see and feel the growth!

Flash forward a few years and we welcomed two little boys one in 2013 and 2015. Suddenly I had three babies: Two human, and my camera 🙂 All the while I was pushing to see this dream of mine of solely focusing on being a creative to become a reality. In the midst of running my business, I also became a high school teacher at my Alma Mater. Talk about full circle. This was something I wanted too, and I feel incredibly blessed to have met the students and coworkers that I have.

This past fall all the late nights- social networking-getting out of my comfort zone times began to pay off and the dreams of becoming a full time photographer were within my grasp. In January of this year I decided to invest more and more energy into photography, and even when I didn’t know where the next shoot would come from, it was there. I could spend far to long telling you about all of these amazing things that continue to happen, telling me that I have made the right decision, but I don’t want to get to lengthly! Just know that dreams do come true. Keep pushing yourself and keep the faith that you really can do just what your heart is leading you to.

If you have any questions- please don’t hesitate to contact me. I’d love to chat!

Leave a Reply

